Untitled

Ana’s Farewell Letter to Agencies

Dear Agencies,

After four and a half rewarding years of working at Second Harvest Food Bank, I have decided to embark on a new career opportunity with the Philanthropy Department at Driscoll’s. My last day with SHFB will be March, 24. I am leaving with mixed feelings because I have met so many great people and organizations that are passionate about making a positive change for our community. My journey from volunteer, to CalFresh Outreach Worker, to Agency Relations Manager has been fulfilling, humbling and enlightening.

We are feeding hope and thus health and wellbeing. With this great responsibility in mind, I want to encourage partner agencies to continue to develop healthy food programs. This simply may mean limiting or eliminating pastries or sugary drinks; for others it will be incorporating nutrition education. Remember, you can find healthy recipes and nutrition education tip cards on this blog . Whatever the solution is for your agency, take advantage of the resources SHFB has to offer or propose new ideas.

I am very grateful to SHFB, partner agencies, clients and volunteers for contributing to my career and personal growth. I see our county with a new lens; in every neighborhood I can identify agencies that are planting seeds of hope and changing people’s lives. Seeing my community in such positive light is truly life changing. You are all exemplary leaders, thank you for inspiring me to be the same.

Lastly, I leave you in great hands with Grace Galvan, Director of Agency Network Services and Tiffany Wong, Agency Relations AmeriCorps. I know I will cross paths with many of you as we continue to build vibrant communities.

Most Sincerely,

Ana Mariela Melgoza

Leave a Reply

